Palm Beach Photographic Centre
Museum Exhibits

Pulitzer Back Stories
In Honor of the Pulitzer Centennial

May 14 to Aug 6, 2016

Pulitzer Back Stories
Events: May 14, 2016: 12-6pm
Opening Reception: May 14, 2016: 6-8pm
On View: May 16 to Aug 6, 2016

20th Annual MEMBERS' Juried Exhibition
FOTOcamp 2016

Aug 27 to Oct 29, 2016

Opening Reception: Aug 26, 2016 6-8pm
On View: Aug 26 to Oct 29, 2016

Museum Hours:

  • Monday - Thursday 10am - 6pm
  • Friday - Saturday 10am - 5pm
  • Sunday - Closed



The Palm Beach Photographic Centre proudly presents:

Pulitzer Back Stories
In Honor of the Pulitzer Centennial
on view
May 16 – August 6, 2016

May 14, 2016: 12-6pm
Events, lectures and panel discussions by Pulitzer Prize winners.

FREE to the Public

May 14, 2016: 6-8pm
Public is Invited to FREE Opening Reception

(C) Charles Porter IV
© Charles Porter IV

Events: Saturday May 14, 2016

The Public is invited to a day full of FREE events On May 14th from noon-8pm.

Pulitzer Back Stories Lectures & panel discussion with the winners & finalists.

Come hear the stories behind the amazing images that won the most coveted prize in journalism, The Pulitzer. Speakers include:

Noon- 1:45pm
- The First Hundred Years of Pulitzers Movie.
- Palm Beach Post speaking about the 1971 Pulitzer by Dallas Kinney for Migration to Misery.
- David vs. Goliath : Brian Smith was a part of the ORANGE COUNTY REGISTER 1984 Olympics Team that won the 1985 Pulitzer.

- Mike Stocker from the Sun-Sentinel has been nominated as a finalist the most time and never won.
- Charles Porter IV, now from ZUMA, first citizen journalist to win a Pulitzer for the Oklahoma City Bombing.
- From the Picture Editors Corner: Scott Mc Kiernan from ZUMA Press, talking about Pulitzer Winners over the years and preparing a Pulitzer-winning submission.

- Carol Guzy 4-time Pulitzer Winner, most by any photographer won while with the Miami Herald & Washington Post.

- Group Panel Q&A Session with special guest, former Time editor Arnold Drapkin.

FREE opening for the exhibition in the museum.
Pulitzer Back Stories.

Press Release:

(West Palm Beach, FL – April 15, 2016)  Fatima NeJame, president and chief executive officer of the world-renowned Palm Beach Photographic Centre (PBPC), today announced that the next exhibition at the nonprofit organization would be Pulitzer Back Stories In Honor of the Pulitzer Centennial.

The new exhibition will feature a score of different eye-catching, thought-provoking images by numerous Pulitzer Prize-winning photographers & runners-up, including Renee C. Byer of The Sacramento Bee, photographers from Florida papers, such as The Palm Beach Post, Charles Porter IV, Gary Coronado and more, all courtesy from ZUMA Wire. Scott Mc Kiernan, CEO of ZUMA Press, is curating both the exhibition and two days of events, lectures and panel discussions by Pulitzer Prize winners on the weekend of May 14-15.

(C) Renee C Byer
© Renee C Byer

The exhibition at the Palm Beach Photographic Centre is one of a series of events across the United States to celebrate the Centennial Anniversary of the Pulitzer Prizes, focusing on former Prize winners, their prize-winning work and the journalistic and cultural values that the award represent. The 100th class of Pulitzer Prize winners will be announced next week and will be handed out at dinner this fall at the home of the event, Columbia University.

“Our next exhibition is just the latest of several major shows celebrating excellence in photojournalism,” says Nejame, who cited last summer’s POYi (Pictures of the Year International) Best in Show Festival at the Photo Centre and the previous Seeing Double: The Best of DOUBLEtruck Magazine exhibition, which displayed 100 of the best photographs featured in the first decade of the award-winning quarterly magazine, which bills itself as “The World’s Best News Pictures in Print!”

“Certainly, the Pulitzer Back Stories In Honor of the Pulitzer Centennial exhibition will further enhance the Photo’s Centre’s reputation for excellence among the world’s photographic and photojournalism community,” adds NeJame, who was recently selected to be one the reviewers at the prestigious fourth annual New York Portfolio Review, which was held early this month and sponsored by The New York Times Lens Blog and City University of New York’s Graduate School of Journalism.

The public is invited to a FREE opening reception of Pulitzer Back Stories In Honor of the Pulitzer Centennial on Saturday, May 14, from 6 to 8 pm.

(C) Gary Coronado, Palm Beach Post
© Gary Coronado, Palm Beach Post

About the Pulitzer Prizes:
In the latter years of the 19th century, Joseph Pulitzer stood out as the very embodiment of American journalism. His innovative New York World and St. Louis Post-Dispatch reshaped newspaper journalism. Pulitzer was the first to call for the training of journalists at the university level in a school of journalism. In his will written in 1904, the legendary publisher established the Pulitzer Prizes as an incentive to excellence, Pulitzer specified solely four awards in journalism, four in letters and drama, one for education, and four traveling scholarships. In letters, prizes were to go to an American novel, an original American play performed in New York, a book on the history of the United States, an American biography, and a history of public service by the press. In the years since, the Pulitzer Prize Board increased the number of awards to 21 and introduced poetry, music, and photography as subjects.

The formal announcement of the prizes, made each April, states that the awards are made by the president of Columbia University on the recommendation of the Pulitzer Prize board. This formulation is derived from the Pulitzer will, which established Columbia as the seat of the administration of the prizes. Today, in fact, the independent board makes all the decisions relative to the prizes. In his will Pulitzer bestowed an endowment on Columbia of $2,000,000 for the establishment of a School of Journalism, one-fourth of which was to be "applied to prizes or scholarships for the encouragement of public service, public morals, American literature, and the advancement of education."

The Palm Beach Photographic Centre proudly presents:

20th Annual Members' Exhibition
on view
August 27 - October 29, 2016

Public is Invited to FREE Opening Reception
August 26, 2016: 6-8pm

(C) Kent Burkhardsmeier
"Foggy Graveyard" ©Kent Burkhardsmeier

The Palm Beach Photographic Centre proudly announces its 20th Annual Members Juried Exhibition, which will take place in our beautiful museum space in our new facility in downtown West Palm Beach. The Members exhibition will also be showcased in our website.

The exhibition is open to photographers world wide, both amateur and professional. Palm Beach Photographic Centre invites photographers working in all mediums and styles to participate. Experimental and mixed techniques are welcome. Those photographers wishing to exhibit, who are not currently members of Palm Beach Photographic Centre, must join by indicating their membership level on the entry form.

Photo Gallery

>CLICK HERE to see an online gallery of all the accepted images.


Winners will be announced at the opening reception.